Interior Header Image

About Us

The USC Beaufort Police officers are sworn and certified officers with comprehensive arrest powers in the state of South Carolina. University police officers have the authority to enforce all state laws throughout the state. The University Police Officers are also appointed and commissioned as State Constables by the Governor of South Carolina as provided by Title 23, Chapter 1, Article 60, Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976, as amended.

The Department of Public Safety is supervised by the Vice Chancellor for Finance and Operations.

It is the mission of the Public Safety Department at USC Beaufort to provide a safe and secure environment in which to study, learn, and work through the efficient use of resources.

Public Safety Department Personnel

Earle Holley
Vice Chancellor for Finance and Operations
(843) 208-8143

Henry Garbade
Director of Public Safety / Chief of Police
(843) 208-8910

The following Public Safety Department personnel are available to assist you.  Call (843) 208-8911 and one of the following officers on duty will be able to assist you.

Police Officers

LT. Bruce Oliver
SGT. Mike Chapman (Historic Beaufort Campus 843-812-8186)
SGT. Jordan Mole (Training Coordinator)
EMC. William Winn (Emergency Management Coordinator)
CPL. Stephen Rogers

PTL. Preston Grovenstein
PTL. Cory Evans
PTL. Theodore Daise IV
PTL. Charles Gaillard Jr.
PTL. Robert Bilyard
PTL. Erik Salus
(Clery Compliance Administrator)

Public Safety Officers

PSO Jack Adelman
PSO Chad Beard
PSO David Randall
PSO George Rivers, Jr.(Historic Beaufort Campus 843-812-8186)
PSO Greg Sprout